A pixelated hello

Hello all!

I’m Pixel, He/They. You can find my public mushroom journal here: 🍄 Mushrooms

Last year as a sophomore, I became involved in my college’s sustainable energy efficiency work. I ended up writing a paper on the environmental impact of digital archiving/knowledge keeping, which included dialogue on the intimate connections of mycelial networks and forests.

I started photographing mushrooms during daily walks this summer. I later took an ethnobotany class that helped me recognize my fungi and plant awareness disparity. Next semester I will be doing a 1-1 directed reading with a plant biology professor on food systems and permaculture practices especially in Southeast Asia.

As an engineering and environmental studies student, I am interested in critiquing engineering and sustainable development. I am inspired by practices of supporting agrobiodiversity and learning from natural intelligence. I am currently working on setting up a solar powered web server as a part of solar protocol. I have several years of experience in grassroots organizing related to Asian diasporic groups as well as environmental justice issues.

Maybe I should mention I’m also trying to figure out post-baccalaureate e.g. grad school programs or fellowships at the intersection or dual program of engineering / infrastructure / ecology / mycology or something—flexible on what that might look like as long as I can continue to explore my passions, so feel free to suggest papers or something that might have people I should get in contact for that.

I look forward to growing and learning with you all!

4 Likes

Hej Pixel :slight_smile: great to have you here! And thanks for that detailed introduction! I love your journal!

1 Like

thanks for the warm welcome!

1 Like

Hey pixel, so cool to see you here :slight_smile: Thanks so much for joining and introducing yourself!