Intentional Contamination and it’s influence in mycelium growth and fruiting

Hello all,

Really like what I see here on this forum and would like to introduce myself.
I am a retired physician that worked in a research lab for several years prior to start practicing medicine in the USA.
In the early 90’s I was able to isolate and partially purify a Human Chorionic Gonadotropin like protein from Sacharomyces Cerevisiae and Candida Albicans. It was fascinating to see the pregnancy hormone having “close relatives” in unicelular eucariots.
Now, retired, and loving the gastronomy of mushrooms I built a simple lab and fruiting room using retired insulated shipping containers used to bring salmon from Alaska!
I want to eat Shrooms but also run some experiments, some on its way!!
I am running pleurotus ostreatus in masters mix contaminated with Sacharomyces introduced prior and after sterilization. So far growth is similar!! The protein I purified in the past was a heavy inducer of transition from blastopore to hyphae in Candida Albicans reason why I want to know if Sacharomyces can influence mushroom growth.
If there is interest I will share my findings and engage in further discussions!!
Happy to be here
Best to all,
Omar

5 Likes

Growth of the p. Ostreatus or the Sacharomyces is similar in both conditions?

This looks like an amazing set up you have! That is a cool thing to investigate as well. Our group (#kiezpilz ) uses nonsterial techniques for our bulk cultures so I think your results would be super relevant for us.

Good luck and keep us posted!

Sacharomyces grows well at room temp and tolerates good variations. So far is interesting that Pleurotus ostreatus in sterile substrate contaminated with active/live Sacharomyces is growing in a similar pattern than Pleurotus ostreatus alone. Nevertheless, non sterile substrate with Pleurotus ostreatus and Sacharomyces is not growing anything!…… so all the other contaminants “ are not welcome”.