Organazing like fungi

Hey all!

I’m Viktor and I have been a part of the SSB mushroom scene for a while. Excited to see this place emerge!

I’ve been a hobbyist mushroom grower for some time, doing log culture, some Oyster on straw and other smaller experiments. Last year me and two colleagues started a microgreens and mushroom micro farm in our village. About three months ago we built our first fruiting room in order to start learning and growing mushrooms.

I’ve already learnt a whole bunch, like don’t build with wood haha, and the need for a good fogger. But despite our fumbling beginnings we have been delivering some really delicious and beutiful mushrooms to local customers. So far we’ve been delivering Lions Mane, Shiitake, Oysters, Nameko and Maitake. People are really loving and craving Lions Mane so we are focusing on getting stable with that right now.

In other dimensions, I’ve been working on transforming our food systems onto regenerative and bioregional ethics and values through our Food Shift collective. Last year was a deep dive into how to run food cooperatives.

I’ve also been a part of the community around the distributed data integrity framwork called holochain for the last 3 years. Things are just about to get really exciting with all that.

Much of all this work is coming together now in a project that we are calling Shiro, this is meant to be a distributed set of software tools that enable communities to create pathways for provisioning food and supporting local growers. A virtual mycelial network for human nutrition if that analogy doees not offend :slight_smile:

That may be too much for an intro, but I am happy to be here!

3 Likes

@zaunders

Hey Viktor, it’s so great to have you here. Welcome! You have been very busy since we last spoke - beautiful work.

I know that @Lando has been working on a fogger for the Kiez Pilz fruiting room. Perhaps there’s an opportunity for some knowledge sharing there.